Great Lakes Section USFA
About GLS and How to Contact GLS


Member Clubs
About GLS
Great Lakes Section of the United States Fencing Association includes the states of Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, and Kentucky.

grlakes.gif (1571 bytes)

GLS includes six Divisions:

  • Michigan
  • Indiana
  • Northern Ohio
  • Columbus Ohio
  • Southwest Ohio
  • Kentucky
The major activity of the year is the Sectional Championship tournament, which also includes the annual membership meeting and election of sectional officers. This event is hosted in a different Division each year. Usually the Sectional Vice Chair is an active member of the hosting Division and takes charge of the tournament for that year. The Sectional Championship serves as the primary revenue source for GLS and is used for sectional expenses.

GLS also sponsors the Sectional Circuit, which provides prizes for the best fencing performance in a set of tournaments, one sponsored by each Division.

Officers for 2012-2013 are:

Chair Joseph S. Streb
Vice Chair Tim Mills
2nd Vice Chair Patrick Kelly
Secretary Peter McOwen
Treasurer Jason Laker

By-laws for the GLS, 2008 revision are available.

Questions about this site?
email webmaster Doug Bliss.

Last updated 31 January 2013